A rise in the standard of living in a country seems to only benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems might this difference cause? How might the problems be reduced?

Many countries over the world are on the upswing in the economy which leads to higher quality of citizens life. There is an idea that such improvement only brings benefits to the big cities rather than the countryside. This problem could result in various negative effects on society and it should be tackled.

First, if the urban areas develop at a faster pace than the rural ones do, the people from small villages or other provinces will migrate to such big cities in order to opt for the jobs which provide them lucrative incomes. Subsequently, the city will be overcrowded, and the healthcare system cannot burden with steadily increased numbers of patients every year. There are some research showed that the mental and physical health of the city dwellers is getting poorer, compared to those of suburbanites, due to inhaling a great amount of greenhouse gas each day and suffering from enormous working stress. Besides, the overload in educational institutions is another serious concern. A class with over forty pupils may not ensure the expected learning outcomes, hence affecting adversely on the whole national education system.

Therefore, the government should propose appropriate strategies to deal with those harmful obstacles so that maintaining the balance of society and achieving sustainable development. On one hand, they could grant the urban people subsidy to stimulate the local economic development. For example, provinces which have beautiful spots that attract a number of tourists yearly should be given financial support from central authorities to build modern buildings such as five-star hotels and restaurants. On the other hand, the new migrants shall be levied a higher tax if they want to relocate to the cities.

In conclusion, moving to cities can have negative impacts on the overall quality of life of a country and the government should take responsibility for coping with such issues.