Students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. What are the reasons, and solutions for this issue

These days, there has been a hotly debated topic over the lack of money-managing skills among students. This essay will illustrate the possible causes then give reasonable measures to solve the problem.

Firstly, this phenomenon is happening due to several factors. Initially, students in today's world lack time for other activities. Because of overpopulation, the job market is getting more competitive. Hence, with a view to achieving plentiful myriad of degrees for a future career, students have a tendency to participate in numerous actual classes. As a result, they become overloaded and do not have sufficient time for practical skills, such as money-managing. In addition, lessons about finance are still inadequate. Most schools tend to overfocus on theoretical subjects. For instance, high school pupils in Vietnam learn seven subjects per semester on average, mostly maths, and literature, none of which is as practical as money management. Moreover, parents also do not give lectures at home for them, since older generations have no experience in this field back in their teenage years. In the long term, this will lead to students remaining clueless

Secondly, some potential Solutions can be proposed to ameliorate the current situation. the first recommended method is including these teaching lessons on TV programs, and on the Internet. Thanks to the advancement of technology, smartphones, and TV are everywhere, which allows students to get access to financial lessons easily regardless of time. Another measure is to make these lessons compulsory. If they were under obligation to learn the skill from an early age, they would be given more time to turn it into practical trials. Furthermore, by adding money-managing skills in math students will find it less difficult to learn as they are related to each other.

In conclusion, the lack of this skill stems from having adequate lessons, and time. Therefore, the aforementioned measures should be implemented to tackle the issue.