Students from rural areas often find it difficult to access university educations. Some people think universities should make it easy for them to study at. To what extent do you agree or disagree

it is not uncommon today to see students from suburban areas have difficulty in getting access to higher education. whether if universities should grant them certain privileges becomes a highly debatable. As far I am concerned, all students should be treated equally.

Higher education brings multiple benefits to every student. But there are many disadvantages regarding universities, for instance, high tuition fees and most of them are located in urban areas. this tend to impose a heavy burden for students from poor financial and educational backgrounds.

However, providing special assistance from universities is necessary. Firstly, by offering easier courses might benefit students from rural areas greatly because their lack of academic foundations compared to their urban classmates. Moreover, only in this way can they quickly adapt to the college environment. Secondly, offering other forms of assistance such as loans, scholarships, accommodations or part-time jobs can ensure their successful completion of their college education.

On the other hand, treating every student equally, whether with a rural or urban background, would be considered the best option in the long run. Essentially, all men are created equal and the society does not give privileges to anyone. Accordingly, it is better for them to get well-prepared for the fierce competition as they will not always receive benefits in their workplace. In addition, giving village students advantages may damage their confidence and self-esteem, and weaken their interest in study. By contrast, it is better for the government to place more emphasis on and invest more capital in the education of rural areas.

To sum up, although there might be some merits of giving privileges to rural students on campus, treating all students equally benefit in the long run.