Students at schools and universities learn far more from lessons with teachers than from other sources (such as the Internet and television). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since students spend a great deal of her growing-up years in school, teachers are widely considered the foremost knowledge source. However, the readily available Internet has enabled varieties of new educational approaches. A growing number of children are turning to it for individualized or more preferable materials.

It is true that most students learn by following the instruction of teachers, which is especially important when students are young and lack the skill set for self-study. Based on professional teaching skills, teachers could employ creativity, patience, and communication skills to impart well-rounded knowledge in a most understandable way. Without a fundamental cognitive framework for decoding the world, teachers' guide is crucial for children to address the overwhelming burst in the information.

However, a standard learning system prepared for the majority cannot suit everyone. When children built more self-learning skills, some of them may prefer to have customized learning plans. They tend to deviate from the traditional syllabus and look for more advanced resources, which is quite common in the field of engineering and business where knowledge in school tends to fall behind the industry. Bill Gates, for example, accumulated extraordinary computer skills in the labs of Computer Center Corporation.

Besides, a long-standing problem, educational resource scarcity, which is not unusual in developing countries, is pushing students to search for alternative solutions on the Internet. The learning experience at school in the countryside can be considerably worse than those in the metropolis. By learning online courses, students could keep catch with the best class in the world. In China, more than 100,000 students have learned a highly rated cutting-edge course named Machine Learning provided by Stanford University. Those resources are unattainable at school.

In conclusion, while some students learn by following the teachers' guide, others may need to search on the Internet for alternative resources. It all depended on their circumstances.