some people think that children should obey rules or do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Other people think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems themselves in adulthood. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People have different views on whether children should follow the orders of adults or rely on independent thinking skills. I believe that they should be applied in different education stages.

Children's brains and personalities are fluid in early years, which makes them more susceptible to bad habits and even dangers. During this period, they lack the mental toolset to distinguish right from wrong and must follow instructions from adults. For example, my cousin is four years old and has no sense of danger. To protect him from hurt, his parents have to remind him to stay away from traffic and strangers every time he went out. It would be unrealistic to tell a four years old child to think differently.

However, when children grow up, an independent and critical mind is essential for surviving the ever-changing world. While direct orders based on old experience would become outdated, a universally applicable mindset could outlive a great many changes. In the past thirty years in China, the working relationship has undergone a significant transformation that my parents can hardly give me advice on work, but critical thinking, as a fundamental mindset, helped me out on many occasions.

Besides, in modern times when the internet is readily available and bursting with information, it can be danger to trust everything online. Education, especially primary through college, has a different role than it did before. Rather than being a source of facts and information, teachers should focus on offering critical thinking skills.

In conclusion, the grade level of the students directly affects what they need in education. Young children could rely on adults' direct guidance, yet as they grow up, critical thinking would play a more crucial role in their life.