People have different ways in developing good behavior of their children for their future life. Some parents believe that by controlling the daily life of their children with many rules either at home or at school, children will be more guided to be a good person, while others argue that children forced to obey so many rules will be not able in tackling their own problems in certain situations.

First of all, keeping children from various bad influences of the surroundings and guiding them to have good manners become the two most obvious reasons for parents in educating their children by obeying rules. It is undeniable that parents will have a lot of worries when they put their children out of the house for learning at school or playing around with new friends, therefore they are taught to be able in differentiating the bad and good manner by obeying parent’s rules to avoid them from unwanted things. For instance, children are not allowed to have faith in new people despite their kindness and they have to stay away from friends with bad habits like swearing or others. Moreover, they will be taught to greet teachers or elderly people and to follow all of the teacher’s instructions. Parents believe that this parenting style is the most effective method to create a good character of their children.

On the other hand, letting children in exploring their own mind in solving their own problems is the most argument of other parents in freeing their children from any strict rules. Based on experiences of many other parents, overcontrolling children with too many rules will lead to an inability to be an independent person when they are apart from parents. They tend to ask teachers frequently before doing something or become more afraid of doing a mistake. For example, when children know that they just made a mistake, they probably will cry and be so afraid to get a punishment. They will try so hard to obey the rules to get the teacher’s attention and compliments. This can affect their mental and does not make them more intelligent.

In overview, still I believe that parenting is the most debated issue for parents and there is no the best pattern to educate children in general due to the different character of the children. However, as a parent knowing their own children’s character in depth, all parents will try to give the best for their children and combining the parenting style between giving rules and freedom to children can be an alternative in the development of children’s good behavior.