Today, more and more people choose to live by themselves. What are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the process of urbanization, the family structure underwent unprecedented changes. The inclination of living alone is increasing. Both economic and social changes have caused the trend.

The first reason comes from the family structure change due to population migration. In the past decade, young people left hometowns and swarmed into the metropolis to pursue unparalleled job opportunities here. Since most of them left the elders at home, if they don't get married, they would live alone.

Women's participation in the labor market, which made them self-sufficient, reinforced the trend. The change that they no longer depended so much on the husbands as they do in traditional families gave them considerable freedom in life. Besides, the development of feminism liberated their self-consciousness. More and more women choose to divorce from an unsatisfied marriage or stay single until they find the right person.

From the perspective of liberalism, this is a triumph. People have sufficient freedom to choose between marriage and single life as long as they are capable of taking care of themselves. However, single life can be vulnerable. A life partner is the most crucial support for adults. In the traditional family, when people need help or someone to talk to, they can always rely on their life partners. But now, they have to deal with stresses and strains all alone. Friends may be helpful, but friends can hardly take the role of a family member.

In conclusion, population migration and women's independence are the main reasons why people choose to live alone. It's an advance in terms of freedom, but it could also make life hard for the single.