People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

With posts pasting all over the stations, billboards spread densely along the highway, and digital screens patched fully on the walls of elevators, advertising practitioners have exploited almost every corner of the world to promote their products. While disturbing and even misleading, commercials are increasingly inevitable in the business world.

Exaggeration are widely used in advertising campaign, which can be misleading. Advertisers do not act in the best interests of the people they are advertising to. Instead, their first priority is promoting the commodities. It's easy to cross the boundary. For example, an advertisement for electric car often promise a driving range that is hardly achievable because the number in the ads is reached under idealistic condition that is far away from the ordinary driving environment. When it comes to medicine, what will happen? A false propaganda would cost the health of patients.

However, advertising is an essential approach to keep track of the latest products, including the beneficial ones that could make our life better. For example, a series of marvelous colorful advertising in the 1970s helped Apple II start the boom in personal computer sales, which successfully introduced lots of children into the new computer world. It is a win-win for both advertiser and customers.

At the same time, advertising is increasingly inevitable on the internet. By virtue of it, high-tech companies manage to provide varieties of services for free, such as search engine, map service, news, and immediate message service. Take Google for example, the income from advertising takes accounts for more than 90% of its revenue.

In conclusion, misleading information in advertising is dangerous, yet the advertisement is unavoidable in our life. As long as we put constraints on deliberately exaggerating activity, it could do more good than harm.