Both scientist and tourist can visit remote natural environments such as the South Pole. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In the boom of the tourism industry, tourists flew all around the world to chase spectacular natural sights. Many once-inaccessible areas have become the most appealing places. While scientists' visits are out of public interest and should be permitted, the visits of tourists need to be limited in case of irreversible damage to the environment.

Scientists should be granted the privilege to visit remote natural environments. In the South Pole, for example, dozens of countries have sent scientists here to build research stations because the glacier contains information about millions of years of human history. Given that those scientists have to obey particular rules and use specialized equipment to minimize the impact of their activities on the environment, they would not cause too much damage to the ecosystem.

However, the vast amount of tourists would pose pressure on the environment. In 2018, more than 50,000 people have swarmed to the South Pole. Unlike disciplined scientists, their activities are hard to control. They left plastic bags and tin cans on the ice sheet, trespassed into penguins' living area, and approached them to take photos, which terrified the penguins. Besides, the effect on temperature accelerated the melting of the ice sheet, which impaired the living space of the inhabitants.

Some might argue that watching the breathtaking view of the South Pole could be a fantastic experience. People should not be deprived of the chance. But if we let it happen, years later, there would be nothing to see.

In conclusion, for the best of the natural environment, scientists could be allowed to go under the constraints of specific rules, but tourists' visits should be forbidden.