People are surrounded by advertising, which has an increasing effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

With posters pasted all over the stations, billboards spread densely along the highway, and digital screens patched fully on the walls of elevators, advertising practitioners have exploited every corner of the world to promote their products. While disturbing and even misleading, I believe the benefits of commercials outweigh the drawbacks.

The wide spread of commercials costs people of their personality. Motivated by the application of mass production, promoting people to buy the same product is consistent with companies' interests. The more units of a product are manufactured and sold, the higher the profit margin is. Famous brands like Apple spend billions of dollars on the commercials to promote their hot sales, which is one of the reasons why iPhone has accounted for nearly half of smartphone market in the United States. At the same time, people's inclination to copy the life of their idols deteriorated the situation. It makes them more vulnerable to the typical advertising campaign like celebrity endorsement. Men covet the muscles of athletes on the poster and so chase the same fitness brands. Women greed for big eyes and blonde hair, which has boomed the makeup industry.

However, advertising is an essential approach to keep track of the latest products, including the beneficial ones that could make our life better. For example, a series of marvelous colorful advertising in the 1970s helped Apple II start the boom in personal computer sales, which successfully introduced a generation of children into the new computer world.

At the same time, advertising is increasingly indispensable on the Internet. By virtue of it, high-tech companies manage to provide varieties of services for free, such as search engine, map service, news, and immediate message service. Take Google for example, the income from advertising made up of more than 90% of its revenue.

In conclusion, though some people lost personal preference by following the advice in commercials, the advertisement is becoming unavoidable in our life.