students today are under more pressure and are pushed to work hard from a young age Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that students are facing growingly burdened learning assignments. I believe that as long as the workload is kept in the appropriate range, it would bring them an advantage in the future.

Work hard from an early stage could facilitate knowledge accumulation that will be needed after school. To survive the highly competitive adult life, man needs a comprehensive skill set, which is attainable by training heavily and on purposely at an early age. In addition to the academic lessons in the standard class, business practice, team sports, and community volunteering activities could not only broaden children's horizons but also build their management skills and team spirit.

Another essential character that could be cultivated in the early years is the quality of being adamant, devoted, and determined. Onerous tasks under pressure are also useful for developing stress tolerance, and self-discipline. For example, Hedge Funds on Wall Street have inclination inclined to recruit young talents with multiple backgrounds in science, business, or sports. Because they believe students who have accomplished more during the same school time are better prepared to survive in the brutal competition in the financial industry.

However, the workload should be kept in reasonable limits because training for the future at the cost of a happy childhood is unworthy. Given that once after school, students will start to take responsibility for their life, youth could be a rare chance they can enjoy life without stresses and strains in their daily lives. They should not be deprived of the carefree and peaceful stage of life.

In conclusion, adapt early to live with pressure is beneficial for children to gain an advantage in the future, but it is crucial to keep the stress under control.