Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the first priority of the advertising campaign is persuading as many people as possible to buy goods from the same brand, which could cost people of their personality. While I agree that nowadays people use more similar commodities than they ever do, I disagree that they are losing their personal preference.

Influenced by the broad application of mass production, promoting people to buy the same product is consistent with companies' interests. As the economies of scale suggested, the more units of a product are manufactured and sold, the higher the profit margin is. Famous brands like Apple spend billions of dollars on the commercials to promote their hot sales, which is why near half of smartphone owners are using iPhones in the United States. At the same time, people's inclination to copy the life of their idols deteriorated the situation. It makes them more vulnerable to the typical advertising campaign like celebrity endorsement. Men covet the muscles of athletes on the poster and so purse the same fitness brands. Women greed for big eye and blonde hair, which has boomed the make-up industry.

However, the Internet prospered the minority taste. Independent brands that cannot afford the expensive traditional advertising could take advantage of online business and search engine now. Those brands target the niche market by advocating their minority style. People who want personalized articles could find them easily online. In fact, more than 30% of the goods sold at Amazon.com are from small online stores that sell independent brand products. They have given people a plenty of choices to stay away from the mainstream and pursue individual preferences.

In conclusion, some people may have inclination for mass-produced commodities from popular brands, but by virtue of online business, personalized minority needs also have sufficient providers to meet.