Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

It is believed that students are of academic education acquisition to overcome the terminal tests at school while regarding such soft skills as doing housework, cooking or dressing, there is no room in school curriculum. From my personal perspective, I strongly disagree with this opinion and in the following paragraphs, several reasons will be put forward to prove my opinion.

First of all, it can be undeniable that theoretical knowledge is of importance and plays an indispensable role in study. If academic knowledge accumulation is poor, it can be hardly conducive to the positive performance in the tests or exams at school. In the long run, it is more likely to become a barrier for students to reach higher career ladder because of lack of strong premise from a very young age. As for students who have obvious orientation of such theory-required jobs as teachers or doctors in the future, being equipped themselves with academic background is the necessity.

However, it is obviously an insufficient provision if a myriad of practical skills, for instance doing housework or cooking, is exclusive in school curriculum. So crucial for students such skills are equipped as soon as possible that those are the necessary tools to encounter the hard obstacles in life. For example, when students make a decision to live apart and have their own life, they have to take adaptation to a new one without any assistance from parents. Nevertheless, it comes as no significant difficulty if the capacity of cooking and arranging living space by themselves have been taught earlier at school.

In conclusion, soft skill courses are not less crucial than academic knowledge provision. Therefore, I believe those should be inclusive in the schooling.