Regarding the knowledge that students should be taught, some held the point that they should focus on academic subjects to surmount exam, while soft skills like cooking or dressing are unnecessary. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with that view.

To begin with, I affirm that academic education is vitally important to the future of the students. Knowledge from disciplines, such as physics, math, chemistry, is not only the basic understanding of the surrounding world but also the chance for students to reinforce their brain’s abilities. That is why academic subjects cover most of the conventional education levels.

However, I would protest if this theoretical knowledge is taught to merely serve the purpose of overcoming exams. With the purely aim at the academic result, students may find the academic knowledge not worthwhile and these understanding soon becomes eroded. Instead, those who involving education system should instil students with the meaning of studying academically and applying them in real life.

Moreover, I oppose the position that skills like cooking and dressing should be out of the curriculum. Firstly, these soft skills may help students to be more self-reliant and even gain a feeling of life satisfaction. For example, those who equipped with practical skills like cooking can take care of themselves on everyday life; culinary practising can also be refreshment after working hours and therefore, helps to strike the study-life balance. In the long run, other skills are of subtle but crucial roles to play in the working life. Choosing clothes is a case in point, that employees in varying professions, especially prestigious ones, necessarily need to take into account. Thus, those skills should be included in the educational curriculum to provide students with comprehensive knowledge.

In conclusion, it seems to me that students should be taught not just academic knowledge, for understanding and applying them in life, but simultaneously soft skills to best equip them with accomplished repertoires for their future.