There exists a position that while seeking pleasure, reading books is more beneficial than watching TV in terms of imagination and language skills. For several reasons, I partly disagree with this view.

On the one hand, there is a solid grounding for the reasoning that reading compares favourably with watching TV in the process of imagining. In reading books, brain collects non-visual information - words - to generate imagery together with circumstances and put them into pictures. Those mental activities are indeed parts of imagination. For example, those who read a detective novel may certainly envisage about what are happening to fully absorb the captivating gestures, sounds and moves, which are depicted through pieces of text. In contrast, watching the film based on the same novel, the audience can directly capture the scenes and actions, cut down on the quantity of information that brain processes, therefore diminish the work of imagination.

However, reading books or watching TV plays paralleled roles in reinforcing language skills, none is inferior to the other. While reading is mainly responsible for written aspect of a language, watching accounts for the phonetic part of the same tongue. Grammar, vocabulary, and making sentences are phenomenally crucial for literature and formal communication occasions, which are augmented by reading books. At the same time, listening, pronunciation, intonation or utterances, all combined in movies or video clips, are indispensable parts of the linguistic realm. This is further evidenced by the fact that watching TV is just like witnessing daily conversations, which prompts a child to develop speaking and hearing abilities. In another word, people's language skills deemed as insufficient without any of these two components.

In conclusion, though I accept that reading for enjoyment may be better concerning improving imagination, I disagree that this habit can be more valuable in compared to watching TV regarding language skills.