Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Retaining public libraries nowadays is thought to be wasteful on account of the advancement and the capability of replacing deriving from computer technology. I partly disagree with this point, because I believe that conventional libraries bear specific values and should not be radically replaced.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that computer technologies have progressed to an extent by which they can play a role as libraries with reasonable spending. Firstly, computers and servers can now able to storage gigantic quantities of information, which are comparable to hundreds of thousands of books, at low cost. The saving, explained by the mass production of technology components and the cut on the overhead costs used to run the libraries, thus can be channeled to other public services, such as hospitals or playgrounds for children. Secondly, technology simplifies the process of accessing books or documents and that, given the fact of the widespread coverage of the internet, allows more people to borrow and read at a time. For example, those who possess a smartphone or a laptop can now stay at home and pick a book from an online library, which would be much more convenient.

On the other hand, I would convince that public libraries are not useless and should not be undervalued. The first reason is that traditional libraries are in an integral interaction with the publishing industry, which produces a given amount of employment. That is actually more beneficial when a group of people has a stable job since they can nurture their families and pay tax for the government. Moreover, provided that some people may find it difficult to gain access to those aforementioned technologies. The elderly or those living in remote areas, for instance, would be probably accustomed to reading in local libraries, thus abolishing these places may pose some problems to them. Finally, a mutual place to read books and newspapers like a public library seems to evoke communal sense and reading cultural as people can interact and share their ideas while reading.

In conclusion, computer technologies are definitely powerful and able to somewhat replace public libraries, it seems to me that maintaining this type of facility however contributes specific value to the community.