Maintaining public library is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people suppose that it is no longer necessary to remain public libraries due to the development of computer science in the modern word. While I agree that technology play a huge role as a source of information, I disagree that it can replace the unique function of public libraries in socio-economic life.

On the one hand, computer is an efficient tool for people to find out and keep abreast of up-to-minute information. Firstly, they create opportunities for people living in isolated areas to observe artworks and update the latest information such as the policies of government or new exploration from all around the word. Thanks to state of the art technology, people in mountainous areas in the north of Vietnam, for example, still be instilled the importance of democratic government, thus solidify the peace of country boundary. Secondly, the Internet cater for users with board spectrum of knowledge about science as well as society. For instance, websites like Wikipedia not only there is a wealth of identification and relative information but also give us picture illustrate those objects.

On the other hand, the public libraries are irreplaceable due to their several merits. The first reason is that by paying a visit to those places people can broaden their horizon knowledge. The majority of libraries nowadays not only have book exhibitions but also provide suitable hand-on activities for both children and adults encouraging interaction among attendances. As a result, they can apply lessons they have learned from books to real life, create long lasting knowledge. Another reason is that, distinguished from the internet, libraries is a source of reliable information which is organized in a clear and logical way. Indeed, all books in libraries are edited carefully by publishers be for publicized to the community. Beside, reader can also find out information about authors or methods to contacts to publisher if there is any mistake.

In conclusion, meanwhile I agree that computer technology has a significant part in helping people approach information, I would argue that there is no substitute for public library in people’s social life.