Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, collecting information has become more convenient thanks to the proliferation of technology. Although this method is practical in many aspects, preserving public libraries should be paid much more attention.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits/ advantages of finding information by using the Internet. Firstly, this method is really convenient as (dùng as thay because thì formal hơn, còn ở đầu câu thì dùng since) search engine allows us to search any material online quickly only with a click of mouse or even a screen touch of smart phones, at any time and any where. Before the appearance of the Internet, people are required to travel physically to libraries to find such materials, which costs unnecessary time and effort. Secondly, the Internet provides us a huge amount of data from different sources so students/people can choose suitable material for their projects or assignments. It is obvious that these online materials are easier to study rather than collecting several books in a library.

On the other hand, public libraries still have more advantages than the Internet. One benefit is that libraries can create a professional studying place with sufficient facilities and quiet atmosphere, which are beneficial to students as they can concentrate on their academic purposes. Additionally, individuals have chance to make friends and exchange learning experience while studying in this place. Furthermore, the library plays an important role in providing reliable learning resource. In fact, the materials have been strictly verified by authorities before being published, while it is impossible to do the same progress for all of the information on the Internet. That is why books in libraries are more reliable than online documents.

In conclusion, although the development of computer science has brought lots of benefits to our lives, I believe that not all functions of a public library can be performed by it. Therefore, maintaining public libraries still worth receiving national budget.