Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills

such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Some people hold a belief that schools should be a place where students study academic subjects to pass examinations rather than learn skills such as dressing and cookery. In my opinion, despite the significance of academic study and exams, students should also be taught fundamental life skills. On the one hand, studying academic knowledge is vital for students in many ways. First,

examination results are essential for students’ academic records. With good results, they will

have an advantage in the national high school exams in which their academic performance after many years of study is considered. Second, academic subjects equip students with

fundamental knowledge that will be used in tertiary education. For example, most undergraduates in Vietnam are supposed to pass subjects, such as Microeconomics and Advanced Mathematics, which are comprised of mathematical knowledge taught at high school. Without a deep understanding, students may fail the final exams and have to study these subjects again, which is time-consuming and costly. However, there are several reasons why students still need to learn practical skills. For instance, when college students live far from family, life skills such as cooking will be helpful since students will be able to prepare healthy and affordable meals on their own instead of eating out at restaurants. Attending skill-building classes at school is also an effective way for students to unwind after many hours of studying academic subjects. Through a wide range of activities, students can relax and as a result, perform better in exams. In conclusion, I disagree that students should only study academic subjects because both academic knowledge and practical skills are equally important and should be taught at school.