Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denial that a tremendous development of technology facilitates access to online information, downplaying the importance of libraries. From my perspective, I am of disagreement with this notion by virtue of its numerous outstanding merits over sources on Internet.

Those who advocate the vital necessity of online researches may base their case on the argument that technological devices serve as an abundant source of information which is readily available and accessible thanks to the Internet. Therefore, learners can easily search for whatever interests them with a click of button whenever they wish to. Compared to the traditional method of collecting information from libraries, which open only certain hours of the day, Internet users are capable of amassing data more actively and quickly. However, I personally doubt the authenticity of such online sources as a significant amount of information on the Internet has never been verified, whereby it is prejudiced, inaccurate or even misleading.

I am strongly convinced that gaining knowledge from books in libraries is significantly more advantageous as opposed to researching online. Firstly, this place affords its visitors a tranquil ambiance for learning and reading. This especially benefits students who is in need of a quiet learning atmosphere to concentrate more on their assignments since they will not be distracted by external factors such as noise or Secondly, libraries play an indispensable role in promoting reading culture as they offer a host of support services to build up such good habits. For instance, in Japan, there is an annual event in which local library staffs collaborate with teachers with a view to providing children with a chance to exchange their favorite books with a total stranger for a week. By adopting this approach, not only do students will make new friends, expand their network but this program also encourages them to read more and be confident to share more.

In conclusion, the value of libraries should not be underplayed despite multiple advancements achieved in the technological era.