Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In recent years, limited participation in physical activities and creativity by children non-stop engaging in television has never failed to draw public attention and spark controversies. In this essay, the reasons behind this phenomenon will be discussed, along with potential solutions to it.

There are two elements that contribute to children being addicted to television. The first one is the lack of parental guidance and limits on screen time. This is due to the fact that parents have failed to recognized the negative impact of excessive television consumption. As a result, children may end up feeling exhausted which is caused by spending hours in front of the television, and neglect other activities such as sports, home assignment, and socializing with friends.

Furthermore, another reason that should be taken into account is the availability of all-day broadcasting programs with addictive content, such as colorful animated movies, or attention-grabbing advertisements. This is exemplified by program creator targeting children due to their unlimited interests and tender personalities, which greatly contributes to a significant increase in television viewership. Consequently, children may stop other activities in favor of watching television.

Two solutions of great practicality are suggested to alleviate the situation. To begin with, parents should play an active role in managing their children’s television consumption. To be more specific, parents can set limits on screen time, monitor contents that their children may encounter, and encourage them to participate in other activities that promote healthy development. By taking these steps, parents can help their children avoid the negative consequences of excessive television consumption.

In conclusion, the lack of parents' attention and all-day broadcasting programs with addictive content are the key reasons that account for the problem. With the solutions mentioned above, there are a number of ways that could be done to counteract the situation.