Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socializing online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

This day and age witnesses a significant increase in the youngsters, who are engrossed in online communication. This essay discusses some noticeable reasons and proposes solutions.

There are two fundamental factors responsible for disinterest in face-to-face meetings. First, it is due to the explosion of the internet especially social media. In particular, the mushrooming of social networking sites and chatting apps such as Facebook, Messenger, Viber, skype allows people to exchange information, send pictures and share their stories and everything in daily life anytime anywhere with a huge amount of people interacting. Besides, the youth are equipped with state-of-the-art gadgets to access the internet without restriction and become addicted to it. Second, the teenagers do not gain adequate necessary education about the detrimental effects caused by abusing online chatting and the irreplaceable roles of person in-person meetings.

However, there are solutions to alleviate these problems. To encourage the young to spend more time meeting in person, adults should organize more appealing, creative outdoor activities and encourage their children to partake. Schools can invite them to join beneficial conferences mentioning their top list of concerns to stimulate their curiosity such as gender, love, travel, mysterious events, career path, in which a lot of people are gathered to share and give their talks. Furthermore, dealing with this issue requires intertwined cooperation between parents and schools. Teenagers should be educated to realize the implications of excessive online interaction and the dramatic perks of meeting in person.

In conclusion, the main problems stem from the outbreak of the social network and the lack of knowledge about the negative impacts as well as the necessity of meeting physically. To solve these, parents, teachers should have radical actions to inspire the youngster to take part in meeting in person.