Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Recent studies show that many youngsters tend to socialize online rather than meeting face-to-face. Personally, there are two principal causes of this phenomenon: the development of online communicating applications and the result of Covid-19. Therefore, the danger of making friends online and the adverse effect of staying indoors for a long period of time should be taught along with the implementation of extracurricular activies in schools to tackle this problem.

Due to the advancements in technology, online chatting and video calling have become easier than ever with inummerable benefits. First of all, because these online communicating applications are mostly free and provide the convenience of staying indoors, teenagers are prompt to using them. In addition, these applications provide the ability to find friends based on similar interests. For instance, the website that has been increasing in popularity is Omegle - a website that allows anyone to video call strangers based on what they both have interest in. Another reason for this trend is the after-effect of Covid-19. This pandemic has prolonged for over two years and has caused billions of people globally to practice quarantine. Consequently, the youths has become familiar with staying indoors and talking to friends through applications such as Skype, Zoom and Teams, thus refusing to leave the house to have a meeting in person.

Several measures can be taken to resolve this adverse trend. To begin with, schools should promote physical team-building activties and implement extracurricular activities such as field trips into the curriculum to get students acquainted with physical and face-to-face socialization. Moreover, staying indoors for a long amount of time is proved to cause many health problems, most popularly obesity. Besides, sometimes the people teenagers meet online can be criminals, possesing huge threats to them.

In conclusion, the convinience of commuting online and Covid-19 are the two main causes attributing to the trend of teenagers not socialising in person and it is up to the school to tackle this issue.