Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Participating in online courses has emerged as a topic of interest. Some people assert that studying online at home has more benefits than the traditional classroom model. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that learning in a classroom with other students is more conducive to the academic progress of students.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why online learning has gained traction recently. First, one of the foremost factors is its convenience, which allows students to study online irrespective of time constraints and location boundaries. People all over the world only need a device and the Internet so that they could access many online courses on different topics, which may relate to all aspects of our life. Furthermore, virtual learning facilitates students to study at their own pace as they can replay videos of lessons many times until they could get the core meanings. Second, online courses do not require expenditure on numerous categories, such as venue or administrative staff. This allows providers to offer courses at a price point that is suitable for the masses.

However, despite the aforementioned benefits, I would contend that online learning could not substitute for traditional learning in a classroom. One of the reasons is many subjects demand practical experiments so that students can easily understand abstract theories. For example, when studying Chemistry, students should be given chances to witness chemical reactions as they could remember lessons much longer. Moreover, interaction among students and between pupils and teachers is of paramount importance. Students, who study in a classroom, stand a better chance of lively discussions that could help them absorb knowledge quickly.

In conclusion, while the potential benefits of studying online make it seem like a good idea, I believe that learning in a classroom would be much more productive.