The subjects and lesson contents are decided by the authorities such as the government. Some people argue that teachers should make the choice.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teachers should choose school disciplines and what to teach in the lessons not the government. While there might be some truth in this statement, I believe that it should be the government's responsibility.

The main reason why teachers ought to decide school programs is that the experience they have accumulated throughout many years of their careers helps them determine what is redundant in the lesson contents and curricula. They, for example, might consider playing a musical instrument in music lessons as unimportant because only a small minority of students are interested in them and are not as useful as science subjects. If teachers decide what to teach on their own, they might choose a unique approach to each student having felt more responsible as it is their chosen way. Consequently, this technique may bring positive results in terms of students’ knowledge assimilation.

However, I think that if the government is responsible for creating/designing school programs, the problems in education system will be totally solved. Firstly, unstandardized contents bring about the issue of inequality among learners. This is because, not all teachers use the same materials to teach and employ the similar techniques to educate. Thus, governmental programs will assure that everyone at school is exposed to materials and subjects equally. Secondly, this would ensure fair exams in universities or other institutions considering that applicants have been taught identically. Ultimately, the government employs pedagogical experts of their areas to thoroughly tailor textbooks to students needs and their level. Therefore, in no way can the contents be considered as useless or impractical.

In conclusion, only when the authorities choose the school subjects and materials, the problems of inequality and unfair exams will be solved. Therefore, I agree that this should be done by the government not teachers.