Some people think that individuals and companies, rather than the government, should pay for cleaning pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the proliferation of alarming messages about green issues, the question of who should be held accountable to pay for cleaning pollution is a subject of debate. While some believe that either people and companies or the government should allocate resources for this matter, I personally think that this issue must be tackled collectively by all of them.

There are a number of reasons why organizations and individuals should be responsible for financing pollution cleanup. Firstly, because industries use a large amount of fossil fuels and release contaminated water into rivers, it is undoubtedly fair that they should pay for cleaning the environment. On an individual level, people, in order to meet their basic needs, tend to consume a variety of products and services which cause pollution in the process of manufacturing them. In addition to this, they drive cars on a daily basis, adding to the increase in CO2 levels. Therefore, they should both equally invest in projects aimed at cleaning pollution.

In my opinion, governments should also give money to have a cleaner environment. This is because, they collect taxes and if a portion of this goes for environmental purposes, everybody will live in tidy and clean communities. Moreover, even if companies and individuals cannot afford directing funds at environment, governments are powerful enough to do this as their budget consists of billions of dollars. I do concede that they have other important areas to allocate money for, but donating only a small proportion of government budget for having fresher air and cleaner cities is a negligible price to pay.

In conclusion, I believe that paying for cleaning pollution must be a joint initiative of the government as well as companies and people within it.