The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity among youth is indeed an alarming issue that places a huge burden on healthcare organizations to cope with. While some people believe that incorporating physical training lessons into their schooling would best tackle this problem, I think that regulating their eating patterns is equally crucial.

The reason why one might regard fitness education as an optimal deterrent against obesity is that it would be a compulsory core subject. Knowing that they must do a strenuous workout during these classes, overweight schoolchildren are left with no chance but to exercise. More often than not, the training is followed by, say, a game of soccer or basketball which involves staying active for an extended period, thus burning calories and helping lose weight. Therefore, this solution is thought to be optimal in dealing with these children and easing the strain on the healthcare system.

However, I believe that only when consumption patterns of school children are controlled by both parents and governments, will the solution mentioned above be considered effective. If, for example, children keep exercising at their schools and simultaneously eat junk food that has no caloric value, all efforts to curb obesity will go in vain since there is a research-proven well-established link between diet and exercise. Thus, not only governments but also parents should exert efforts to ensure that children eat healthily both at schools and at home.

In conclusion, even though PE classes at schools are considered as the main way to solve the obesity among the youth, I believe that as long as eating patterns are not controlled by governments and parents, the problem is insurmountable.