Around the world, more adults can work from home and more children can study from home as computer technologies

become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a positive or negative development for society?

With the widespread availability of computers, more and more children and adults are choosing to study or work online. While I think that this trend has some downsides, I believe that generally it is a positive development for the society.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why remote work or study can be considered negative. Firstly, employees and students tend to lead physically inactive lives because there is no need to commute anywhere. This sedentary lifestyle might then act as a trigger to illnesses, such as obesity or diabetes because they may not burn enough calories as they do at work or in schools. Additionally, the performance of both groups may be negatively affected due to a relaxed atmosphere at home, which makes it extremely difficult for teachers and managers to monitor their progress.

However, I believe that children and adults benefit greatly from technology-led activities in multiple ways. It is a practical solution to those people who commute long distances to their workplace or studies. By doing so, they can save valuable resources: time and money. Moreover, the relaxed working environment creates flexibility for both groups as they can choose their suitable timetabling or agenda and decide on their own what to accomplish when. Ultimately, the future seems to belong to those who are technologically advanced and computer literate. Therefore, in no way are studying and working negative development for the society.

In conclusion, although a computer-driven workplace or the learning atmosphere may seem disadvantageous, I think that it is wholly positive for society since it is practical, flexible, and useful.