Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

The life satisfaction of the older generation is thought to be higher in the past as they were more physically and socially active, but now many live alone and suffer from health issues. While there are two main causes which engender this situation, governments play a key part in tackling it.

Lonely and unhealthy lives of many elderly people seem to be associated with youngsters’ lifestyle and eating patterns. Young people tend to work harder and harder to meet their materialistic needs and often forget to spend time with senior family members. Even though the old have a desire to socialize with their children or younger relatives, they simply cannot have an opportunity to do so due to the hectic ways of life. As a consequence, they seem to have no chance but to live lonelier and unhappier lives than they did in the past. Moreover, because the number of fast-food companies has increased significantly, some older people find it effortless to eat in those outlets. This food, which has no nutritional value, is a trigger to illnesses, such as obesity and diabetes.

To remedy this problem, governments can take a number of steps. Firstly, they should consider reducing the working hours of employees who have older members in their family so that they can spend more time with them and show affection. Alternatively, governments can organize events that bring community members together. In no way will older members feel lonely if they meet with their acquaintances and neighbors on a frequent basis. Ultimately, governments should limit older people’s consumption of junk food by, for example, imposing high taxes on purchasing this food. As a result, aged members of society tend not to suffer from health issues as they turn to buy healthier food options having been discouraged to consume fast food.

In conclusion, the reasons why many elderly people lead a lonely and unhealthy life probably have not only to do with today’s fast life but also with changed consumption patterns. Governments’ actions mentioned above can certainly be helpful in dealing with this scenario.