The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Thanks to the development of marketing, advertisements have become ubiquitous as never before. While there may be some truth behind the claim that it is beneficial for society to fully restrict all kinds of commercials, I disagree.

The main and only reason why adverts should be banned is that the excessive exposure to them makes people purchase unwanted items. Because ads have powerful visual appeal – colorful media, customers are likely to be convinced to buy those items. My friend, for example, having watched a commercial by a famous clothes manufacturer during our visit to Times Square in NYC, bought winter clothes despite the fact that he did not particularly need them and it was summer. Therefore, they might be considered as the primary cause of current throw-away tendency.

Nevertheless, I do believe that in today’s globalized world, advertisements are sources of important information, employment and revenues. Firstly, if it were not for them, my friend would not be informed about discounts in his favorite store, neither would most people; so, they keep people informed and influence them, but still leaving decision-making to individuals themselves. Moreover, to make adverts, a huge number of designers, market analysts, and content-makers work. Thus, banning all types of them altogether is contributing to a rise in the rate of redundancy. Ultimately, advertisements play a key part in order for multinationals to familiarize their products globally. Would it be sensible to curb their development and thus hurting economies by banning commercials?

In conclusion, not only do advertisements have importance in terms of people’s employment, but also for the proper functioning of multinational enterprises. Therefore, I believe that banning them will do more harm than good.