Across the world today, only a few languages are increasing in use, while the use of many other languages is declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

Globalization is affecting the way people communicate throughout the world these days. As a result, the widespread use of very few popular languages is growing, whereas the users of majority tongues are in decline. Although this trend can be seen as both positive and negative development, I believe that it does more harm than good for society.

On the one hand, one might argue that adopting one or two common languages to use globally is a force for better international understanding. Indeed, people will enjoy improved communication wherever they go because the world might seem like one global village; all it takes – the command of those lingua francas. Consequently, countries around the world have a chance to reap profits, say, from an influx of tourists or an increased number of multinational companies, which are willing to expand as a result of business opportunities provided by minority languages.

However, I think that all the benefits mentioned above are not justified as long as the use of minority languages jeopardizes the culture of countries. This is because languages are an important element of any culture with which history and literature of countries are strongly connected. If all people around the world, for example, use one universal tongue, national songs, written works of their countries are risked as they are not passed down on to future generations because nobody speaks their native languages. Therefore, I believe that if this change comes at the expense of culture, it is not positive for society at all.

In conclusion, even though the use of a limited number of languages around the world might seem advantageous for international communication, I believe that it is negative for society as it endangers cultures.