It is difficult for people in cities to do physical exercise. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that exercising can be a challenge for big city dwellers. While there are some factors that might be the roots of this issue, a number of remedies can be suggested to solve the problem.

Of all the various causes which make exercising a difficult task for people living in metropolises, one is the lifestyle they have adopted. It is no wonder that city life is fast-paced, where people have to work harder and harder to earn more, move up the career ladder and meet their long-term needs. This way of life, in turn, leaves little or no time to exercise. A second factor is linked with facilities required. Being mainly comprised of densely-located skyscrapers, high-rise apartments and business centers, cities often lack parks with tracks for jogging, open-air gyms with parallel bars and other equipment to exercise.

Focusing on possible solutions, perhaps the most effective one is to make exercise compulsory part of education and work. If employers, schools, universities and colleges implement this change, we can encourage better physical activity in cities. Another remedy to solve this issue would be to improve the existing infrastructure to exercise, probably by building more parks and gyms, and upgrading the existing ones through investment. Finally, the government can, at least, organize running marathons more frequently and motivate people with valuable prizes as it is done in New York City every Sunday.

In conclusion, the lack of exercise facilities and city residents’ lifestyle seem to be major culprits that make exercise a difficult practice. Nevertheless, the key to the problem lies with several government initiatives.