Some people think that all school students should learn a foreign language, while others think that students should not be required to learn it if they do not have talent for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

School learners with a good command of a foreign tongue are likely to succeed in the world of work these days. While some people feel that only those with a linguistic ability should learn this, I side with those who believe that all students ought to master it regardless of their talent.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why some people think that only gifted schoolchildren should be allowed to learn another language at school. Firstly, by educating such pupils, schools and teachers can enjoy better outcomes from their performances. In English knowledge competitions in schools, for example, students with innate abilities are proven to generally pass them with flying colors because their talent allows them to have a good grasp of the language. Secondly, it is unwise to force all children to be engaged in language acquisition if they have no skills and aptitude in this. Even if they studied it, they would do badly since they are not capable and, consequently, they fall behind peers, proponents add.

However, I support those who argue that all school students should be equally exposed to mastering a foreign language. Despite the unequal and low-quality performance of some pupils, they, at least, form a basic understanding of a foreign tongue, which eases their communication with foreigners. In addition to this, they broaden their horizons since they familiarize themselves with the foreign culture for language is an essential element of it. As a result, they grow up to be more mature and rounded individuals. These students are highly likely to succeed in the workplace since language proficiency is one of the marked benefits for their CVs.

To conclude, even though some people think that only pupils with natural predispositions to it should be taught a foreign tongue, I agree with those who believe it should be a mandatory subject for all schoolchildren.