Computers are increasingly used in education. In which areas do you think are computers more important and in which areas are teachers more important?

More and more educational establishments are making use of computers in education. In my opinion, while practical disciplines require extensive utilization of computers, in teaching theoretical subjects, the role of teachers is paramount.

It is undoubtedly true that some areas are impossible to teach without access to computers. This is especially the case when it comes to educating IT in schools and higher educational institutions. In order for students to practice skills in Python programming language, for example, which is widely used, they need to be able to use computers and apply learnt skills in it. I do understand that it may be taught without the use of computers, but knowing just the theoretical part of an area is far cry from applying it into practice with the use of computers. The same happens when teaching subtleties of architecture in universities. If students are kept limited merely to theory, they have no chance but to fail in their future work because they are not taught how to model buildings in 3DMax – the most fundamental software in architecture currently.

Nevertheless, there are some subjects in which the role of teachers is more crucial than that of machines. Firstly, teaching history involves telling students stories about important historical events; these lessons should be delivered as appealingly as possible to grab the attention of students and improve their knowledge acquisition. This is done best by pedagogical experts. Yet another area that should be more teacher-centered is teaching foreign languages. Computers can do little in, for instance, teaching grammar basics or vocabulary as opposed to educators’ effective methodology and techniques. Therefore, I think that these subjects should primarily be teacher-led.

In conclusion, although practical subjects ought to be taught with the help of computers, I am convinced that in learning about history and languages teachers play the main part.