Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of computers and the advent of e-books, it is felt that the money allocated for the maintenance of public libraries is spent in vain. I completely agree with this statement for two main reasons.

To sustain libraries, huge sums of money are spent on the library staff, renting as well as updating the database and it is not justified because of the digitalization of books. If one needs a book on psychology, for example, they no longer pay a visit to a library because they can search for an e-version of this book on the Internet. In addition to being effortless to use, e-books provide a reader with portability which paper-based ones are unable to offer. For instance, they do not require much space to be carried around and this particularly appeals to people since they can store dozens of books, say, on their laptops.

I do understand that public libraries are more readily attended by older people since they are less computer literate and are accustomed to acquiring information through tactile experience. However, with a growing concern about the environment, many people nowadays are reluctant to read books due to the materials used to produce those them. To provide public libraries, the environment has to suffer immensely because of logging. Therefore, would causing damage to the environment to provide libraries with resources and maintain their staff be the right courses of action?

In conclusion, not only supporting public libraries financially is inefficient for recent digitalization habits, but also environmental reasons. Therefore, I believe that the money channeled to sustain public libraries is wasted.