Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the unprecedented digital transformation, computers are becoming a common way for people to access information. Some people believe that public libraries are no longer necessary to maintain. I agree that some traditional functions of public libraries have been replaced by technologies; however, in many modern cities, public libraries are transforming into an essential educational centre for communities.

Since the development of computer technologies, online resources have provided people with many conveniences in terms of time efficiency and geographic flexibility. Instead of physically borrowing books from libraries, citizens can easily browse online and download the digital copy, accessing the information at any time in their convenience. In addition, owing to computer science, digital materials can be accessible across various regions, which minimises the geographic limitation compared with the traditional libraries. For these reasons, fewer people go to libraries to borrow books or look up information.

However, in recent years, an increasing number of modern public libraries are undergoing the revolution to become a major hub for people to access community resources and to collaborate with other citizens. For example, in Melbourne, local councils and governments offer job seeking and language training seminars through public libraries to help new arrivals of Australians to better settle down. Furthermore, some libraries support residents’ socialization through effective events such as photographing workshop or book sharing session, enhancing people’s sense of well-being. Therefore, more and more people actively attend these activities in public libraries.

In conclusion, this essay argued that although the traditional borrowing function of public libraries is gradually replaced by the internet, investing public libraries is still vital because of its revolutionary educational function.