Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Today, a new generation of youngsters has unprecedented access to modern technological devices. Children tend to spend longer hours on these devices rather than spending time on exercise. This essay will analyse the reason behind it and argue why this trend leads to a negative development for children.

Fundamentally, security is the biggest concern that many parents have limited children’s opportunities to play outdoor. They are scared of risking their children to become victims from traffic or crime particularly when children play by themselves. Instead, parents prefer to keep children within their sight indoor by offering them technologies as an entertainment. Hence, with the very little access to nature outside, children are more likely to end up sitting in front of screens for longer durations.

However, this is not a positive trend. Overexposure to computers causes an inactive lifestyle, which could risk children’s health. Children tend to overuse screens when they become addicted to them, spending several hours per day on online games. As a consequence, the chances of having back pain, posture problems, eyesight issues and obesity are more likely to occur. According to BBC News, 23% of children in Australia suffer from obesity due to the longer exposure to screens. Therefore, spending too much on technologies rather than sports does not support children’s development.

In conclusion, this essay discussed that security concern is the leading reason why children tend to overspend time on computers but not on sports. This essay also argued that this development can contribute to health issues for children.