Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Many people argued that children these days prefer spending most of their free time with eyes glued to the television rather than playing some sports. This tendency has resulted from several reasons and may have both negative and positive effect on the youngster's development

On the one hand, there are numerous explanations for this trend. First of all, the playground for sports and other outdoor recreation activities. It appears to be shreds of evidence that nowadays major of the land, especially in urban areas, is using for the purpose of commercial and accommodations. Thus, the playing fields for children's activities are bringing down significantly. In the second place is the massive schedule of the child. Children reportedly strive their best to got good marks. Consequently, they do not have any time to unwind and reenergize themselves or even if they have, it mostly in the late-night which is not suitable for playing sport. Furthermore, there is the accelerated growth of the internet and other kinds of indoor entertainment which is more attractive to kids than sport. Last but not least, parents are allegedly responsible for their lack of care and affection to their offsprings. By way of illustration, many unfortunate children who suffer from miserable family life choose gaming and television as an element of escapism.

Everything have strength and limitation. Television and the mass media can be harmless fun that can improve the child's mental agility. This is shown by many children who expose to game during a reasonable time a day having demonstrated abilities to make quick decisions and react quickly to unexpected situations. Nonetheless, if the children have excessive consumption of game playing or television watching, it can be quite addicted. Apparently, it may lead to the physical inactivity which is quite detrimental to their mental and physical health

Overall, tv watching among children is overweight the time spent on playing sport due to several causes including lack of playground, hectic academy life or poor family bonding. Thus, it can have positive impacts such as improve mental agility or negative impacts of physical inactivity