Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every aspect. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, a new generation of youngsters has unprecedented access to modern technological devices such as computers. Although some people believe that overexposure to these devices causes negative effects on children, I am more convinced that technologies can be used as an educational tool to promote children’s learning.

On the one hand, some people argue that spending long hours playing computer games leads to an inactive lifestyle, which could potentially risk children’s health. This is true when they become addicted to the screen, ending up sitting in front of computers for longer durations. Back pain, posture problems, eyesight issues and obesity are therefore more likely to occur because of it. According to BBC News, 23% of children in Australia have obesity due to the overexposure to screens. For these reasons, playing computers games has become a big concern about affecting children’s health for many parents.

On the other hand, these people overlook the positive benefits that technologies can bring to children. One prominent feature of computer games is its advantage in stimulating children’s cognitive development and enhancing their academic achievements. Nowadays, many computer games contain highly complex and abstract instructions, which requires children to develop necessary problem-solving skills as well as critical thinking skills. In addition, some games such as ‘wordsmith’ or mathematical puzzles would support children’s literacy competence and encourage their mathematical thinking. Therefore, computer games can effectively serve as an instrument in improving children’s learning outcomes.

In conclusion, this essay argued that despite its disadvantages of overusing computers in leading to an inactive life, its educational benefits of supporting children’s development cannot be ignored.