Students in school or university learn more from teachers than from other resources (e.g. Internet or TV), do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that schools or universities are the better places to support students’ learning outcomes than through other resources such as computers or TV. Although schools can promote students’ academic performance, I am more convinced that other reasons also play an important role in supporting students’ development.

It is true that students learn most academic knowledge including literacy, maths, science and history from schools or higher education from an early age. Teachers deliver useful and effective information through pedagogical approaches and quality curriculum to make sure that students acquire the necessary knowledge to enhance their academic achievements. Therefore, students indeed learn numerous theories and knowledge from teachers.

However, only mastering these academic knowledge does not make a student become a well-rounded person. There are certain areas that schools or tertiary education may not focus on. Internet and TV programmes can just serve as a supplementary tool to strengthen these areas. For example, quality educational TV programmes such as BBC Animals offer younger students a great opportunity to understand the world in an in-depth level, allowing them to have a better connection with the community that schools do not offer. In addition, some students prefer to browse further background information on those particular subjects out of their academic curriculum. For these reasons, other resources can become a practical educational instrument to enhance students’ learning.

In conclusion, this essay argued that despite schools’ advantage in teaching student useful academic information, other resources like computers or TV are also essential in students’ life.