Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A new generation of youngsters has unprecedented access to modern electronic devices such as smartphones and computers. Many people believe that these digital devices have degraded young people’s reading and writing competence. This essay partly agrees with the statement and will argue why technologies can promote young generation’s reading skills while doing little help in supporting their writing skills.

On the one hand, digital devices have become a modern means for contemporary people to acquire information and knowledge, which during the learning process people’s reading capacity can be substantially improved. For example, many young people read news on their smartphones when they commute to work, learning and accumulating new vocabularies on a daily basis. In addition, many effective digital dictionaries are just available online for people to look up new words or pronunciations while they are reading articles. Therefore, modern technologies can be a practical tool to enhance people’s vocabulary acquisition.

On the other hand, young generations tend to foster a lazy habit when using these technologies to compose texts such as emails or essays. Owing to convenient functions form software programme such as Microsoft Word auto-correction and grammar checking, people care less and less about their spelling, grammar, vocabulary use and cohesion when they type the words and sentences into the computer, which as a result had lessened their writing competence in a long run. Given the above, writing skills cannot be properly sharpened due to the convenience of technologies.

In conclusion, this essay argued that although modern digital platforms support young people’s learning in reading, they are a negative contributor in strengthening people’s performance in writing.