Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that the use of computers and mobile devices to communicate might have a strong negative impact on the reading and writing skills of the youth. From my perspective, while using electric devices to communicate can be beneficial, the drawbacks of this should be taken into consideration.

On the other hand, there are myriad reasons why younger using computers and mobile phones can be beneficial, the most significant of which are various applications and enhancing social communication skills. With regard to the first idea, with technological development, the use of applications to serve for studying is a matter of course for young people. For example, millions of juvenile people using the Grammarly application were recorded in 2017, it is considered a renowned software to serve for improving reading and writing skills in recent years. As far as the second point is concerned, using computers and mobile devices can improve social communication. For instance, young generations tend to proactively take part in some groups on social media with the aim of exchanging hard problems and making new friends.

On the other hand, the aforementioned problems can have some demerits, liked to tend to using shorthand words and depending on applications. when it comes to the former, the use of shorthand words is a tendency of young people these days. For example, teenagers love sending a formal email to someone full of shorthand words, the reader will be inferred that we do not spend a respectful attitude toward them. In terms of the latter, more and more young generations depend on software a lot. For instance, when teenagers are not actually know how to deal with a hard problem, they will use software to tackle these problems, which makes them more and more lazy to find a solution.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that despite the positive effects that using electric devices can exert, the negative implications should not be underestimated.