many countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

In modern days, overseas travelling has become popular. However, many people criticised that international travellers bring negative impacts on the local environment. This essay will analyse why these people have such a view and will suggest the possible way to change their view.

International tourism is often criticised for its contribution to environmental degradation and the disrespect to the traditional custom. First, many overseas travellers have been noticed of throwing rubbish on the ground and smoking in the public. These irresponsible behaviours leave tremendous white plastic for the local community to deal with, which consequently cause detrimental water, air and soil contamination. Given the above, many individuals believe there are little benefits to foreign tourism.

Second, some international tourists are insensitive and ignorant about local traditions and culture. For example, in Indonesia, many tourists wear inappropriately and expose their body too much when they visit a temple, where visitors are expected to wear long sleeves and cover their legs. Such behaviour leads to a more negative attitude towards international travellers in the local community.

Despite the above, it is undeniable that international tourism is a vital driver of stimulating the local economy for many countries. Government could promote this fact to the local people through public education. For example, government officials could illustrate how much international travellers have contributed to the local GDP and calculate how much jobs are created due to the demand for goods and services.

In conclusion, in some people’s view, international tourism does have adverse effects on the local environment. However, government could still change this view by emphasising its importance to the local economy from the tourists.