Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

It has become common for developing countries to focus on improving their tourism industry. There are some factors that might have led to this phenomenon, and I believe that it is a negative trend.

There are a number of causes why developing countries are concentrating on tourism. First of all, it is a great source of income for them. This is because foreign visitors bring in hard currency, which will be spent on local hotels, cafes, restaurants and many other attractions, all of which will benefit the economy if they prosper. Besides bringing an influx of money, tourism also creates job opportunities for people. This is because in order for these businesses to function, they need people; in effect, the rate of unemployment in the host country decreases and standards of life in those countries improves.

In my view, this is a negative trend principally for environmental and cultural reasons. In the first place, tourist visit well-known destinations, resorts, and other natural areas, and leave rubbish and food leftovers. This, in turn, creates pollution that is a matter for concern. To expand the issue of pollution, tourists use airplanes, automobiles and trains to reach their destination, which exhaust large amounts of deleterious gases. From cultural perspective, local people’s traditions may be damaged when they come across people from different nationalities with different outlooks. Changing clothing trends in developing countries such as Uzbekistan is an excellent case in point.

In conclusion, developing nations are prioritizing tourism industry for financial and employment reasons. Nevertheless, I am of the view that this trend is largely a negative one because it impacts on culture and environment.