Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to solve this problem?

Suggested by criminologists and experts that the number of returned convicts who continue committing wrongdoings is alarming. There are a variety of explanations for this trend and several solutions could be adopted to alleviate the problem.

Recidivism occurs after the prisoners are released for some reasons, chief of which is the uncertainty in deterring and educating offenders to avoid illegal activities in the prisons. The rehabilitative measures, generally, are often used for the most lawbreakers to instill in them the grave consequences of their actions and gear them towards ethical behaviour. However, to some particular individuals, those forms of deterrences are not strong enough to influence their mental determination to engage in crime again. Additionally, corporal torture in jails or humiliation, for instance, could sometimes intensify fued or have an adverse impact on their health instead of educational purposes. Consequently, during the reintegration process, the convicts would perpetuate crime as a form of revenge to the law system.

Undoubtedly, the authorities should take steps to tackle this problem. In an attempt to reduce crime incidence, stricter punishments must be administered to deliver tangible results. By doing so, the power of the judicial system and law enforcement could be reinforced and upholded to a higher level. For example, once the death penalty or life sentence is adopted to a criminal, the other will subconsciously have a sense of fear and aware of their behaviours. In the meantime, the police department and federal agency should also dissuade potential criminals, which could directly result in a reduction in the volume of crime had the tendency of committing wrongdoings were eliminated.

To conclude, illegal activities are reoffended often out of complex motives and steps should be taken into thorough consideration to ensure the order of society as well as the safety of the public.