Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home.

Is this a positive or negative development?

The rapid pace of the artificial intelligence evolution has seen progress in manufacturing and upgrading robots to remove human’s drudgery. Its work efficiency has also been proven by its excellence and productivity with a wide range of applications from household purposes to the workplaces. I would contend that this is a positive development to some degree.

Firstly, machinery outperforms human in many perspectives including working. For one thing, information could be stored at a data center, which directly results in a spacious workspace and a decline in conventional paper-based statistics and files. Since offices are often overwhelmed with tons of paper, robots could store and adjust documents in a logical way as well as retrieve them in a fraction of second. For another, automation could improve the quality at work as the accuracy of algorithm is able to counter all the issues such as wrong calculation due to the lack of concentration by human or tracking information when clients call for help. Both of the aforementioned benefits are essential to businesses during their operation and adaptation to the needs of the market.

In the context of home, these revolutionary inventions are also available in domestic use. For instance, culinary robots are designed to collect ingredients and follow the recipes to provide families with a well-prepared meal, which could save time for the housewife to do other tasks. Furthermore, there are also automatic house cleaners and dishwashers that have been ubiquitous these days and thanks to those devices, the living standard of people has been improved very much. The adults can spend time for their children in tandem with relieving themselves from the tiresome work after a long day whereas kids could concentrate fully on their studies without worrying about household chores.

To conclude, there are ample benefits when applying robotic technology to real life. This transition is changing people’s attitudes as well as positively intervening in the function of mankind.