Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Gender equality at work has been a difficult issue to deal with in many countries. While some think that there should be equal chances of employment for both men and women in armed forces especially, I support those who argue that the latter is not suitable for such jobs.

On the one hand, supporters might argue in favor of women working in the military forces for two main reasons. First and foremost, everyone should have equal chances for equal employment no matter what position it is. Depriving one a chance to pursue a dream may stifle their motivation to work, and consequently lead to poor performance in their other chosen area because they tend to have a reluctant attitude. Thus, if women choose to be police officers, they should be supported instead of being discouraged. Moreover, the gentle sex is proven to have better forensic instincts and on average higher intelligence than their male counterparts. Therefore, giving them a chance to work in police intelligence departments, for example, is likely to be productive.

However, I side with those who believe that they are not suited for these jobs for a few reasons. Initially, it is true that the police undergo intensive training and practice in fields under extreme weather conditions, which are difficult barriers for women to overcome due to their physically weaker bodies. Secondly, females tend to be emotionally vulnerable. In especially serious operations, say dealing with recidivists, they might not be cold-blooded enough to apply weapons, if necessary. Ultimately, because the police work involves the security and safety of people, in no way will it be sensible to employ those who are emotionally and physically unsuitable for the position just to achieve a statistically perfect balance.

In conclusion, although some might argue that there should an equal number of women working in the military, I agree with those who think that they do not match the criteria mentioned above to make them suitable candidates for the armed forces.