Most people take interviews to select a person for a job. What are other ways? Which is the best way of selection?

How to select only the most suitable employees out of an immense pool of them? This question has been puzzling employers for a long time now, but most of them are still relying heavily on interviewing job applicants. While there are some options that they can apply to pick the right workers, I personally believe that conducting interviews is by far the most effective method of selection.

The first alternative to interviews while recruiting would be requiring recommendation letters. These references can be obtained from 2 sources: previous employers can help new managers and bosses to form an understanding on a potential candidate's previous work experience, their attitudes and even personality based on feedback, and an educational institution, such as a college or a university, that they have graduated, providing further objective opinion about the job applicant. Another way is designing personality and aptitude tests. By doing so, recruiters can test a subject's knowledge and personality theory-wise. However, these tests must be compiled by professionals like head specialists and reputed psychologists so that results obtained are valid and accurate.

In my opinion, however, conducting interviews is still the most effective method for recruitments. The principal reason for this is that interviewing is a relatively faster process. Unlike reading references or spending time on checking an applicant’s personality and knowledge, interviews can be conducted in approximately 15 minutes, allowing the selection team to decide instantaneously. Moreover, interviewing tends to be more reliable than other alternatives. This is because recommendation letters may be biased or can be faked, while aptitude and psychology tests may fail to produce accurate results or have a high chance of cheating. During interviews, though, a person’s emotions, behavior, personality and attitude can be determined straightforwardly through face-to-face interaction.

Overall, I believe the most optimal way of filling a vacancy is through conducting interviews for it is time-efficient and sophisticated. Alternatives to doing so are less likely to be effective due to problems about reliability as well as objectivity.