Subjects at school are selected by authorities such as the central government (not by the teachers). Some say that these subjects should be chosen by teachers. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, one school of thought holds that the government should take responsibility for designing the school syllabus. However, some commentators contend that school teachers have enough ability to make their own curriculum. I would partly agree with both views.

On the one hand, it is of great importance that a homogenous curriculum under government institution’s supervision should be applied for all education system. The key driving force behind this trend is that policymakers could strictly manage and provide their children with the most appropriate studying contents, which are forced to follow moral values so as to help the kids become an exemplary citizen in future. Furthermore, the fact that the subjects chosen by teachers will depend on their personal ability and viewpoint makes the government hard to control the qualification and standards. In addition, while the vast majority of teachers only own basic teaching skills, most of pedagogical professors working for the country administrator have high expert in not only practical but theoretical knowledge to make decision of which understanding areas should be educated at school.

On the other hand, it is teachers who are directly exposed to learners that can comprehend their most prominent demands. Taking Vietnam for example, some special subjects as Mathematics or Literature always play an evitable role in final-year learning program as students must take part in the entrance examination for university or higher tertiary system. As a result, teachers usually attempt to balance the studying time spent on core majors and other semi-subjects like Martial Arts or Drawing.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that both authorities and teaches should be considered as outstanding factors influencing on how to select learning subjects.