In most countries, what is taught in schools is the responsibility of the central government. However, some people believe that teachers should decide the curriculum at schools. I completely disagree with this proposition.

To begin with, the knowledge and skills given by subjects at schools need to be useful for the society and the development of their own country. Thus, the authorities, with essential power and resources, must be responsible for designing the suitable syllabus. In particular, the balancing of time and content between subjects, require not only a substantial knowledge but also practical experiences from pedagogical experts in the educational organization, which is not an easy task that a normal teacher can handle. The roles of teachers should only be limited to transferring good knowledge to learners.

On the other hand, to establish a standardization in educational system, not only the courses but also other systems such as ranking systems and examinations need also be coordinated by the authorities. For example, every high school students in Vietnam, who expect to move to higher education have to attend the university entrance examination. In addition, the government also play a vital role in the designing of teaching methodologies, which have to satisfy with the requirement of the development of economy and society. As a result, more and more schools are translating into practice the use of technology in teaching sessions.

In conclusion, designing syllabus as well as building a standardization in educational system is not a teacher’s duties. Therefore, I personally believe that the authorities who have enough power should be responsible for this jobs instead of normal teachers.